Funny true small-world story

Kathy stopped by a table the other night to say hello to some folks who obviously weren’t from around these parts.

“Welcome to Nora’s. Where are you visiting from?” she asked.

“Washington DC! We came here because our favorite restaurant there is named Nora’s too! Bet you didn’t know there was another one.”

“Oh on the contrary,” Kathy said. “ In fact, that Nora’s son is one of our favorite winemakers here in the Gorge, Alexis Pouillon. Would you like to try his wine?”

You should have heard the squeals. Yes, Alexis and Juliet, they loved two bottles, and took the empties home as proof for the other Nora.

2 responses to “Funny true small-world story

  1. I posted this on Yelp and thought you should know:
    We agree with Paul of San Francisco’s July 30 review: very good food but horrendous service and food delivery. It’s quite surprising that Nora hasn’t responded to such criticism. The server did indeed tell us that dishes might come staggered, but how about one single dish arriving in half an hour, another single dish in another half an hour and then the full order for 5 people in another hour. For the better part of 2 hours, most of us had nothing in front of us. Most good restaurants can deliver a variety of courses ordered by several people within a reasonable time and everyone at the table has food in front of them. My husband stumped our poor server by asking why no one in the restaurant was eating. It’s time that someone at Nora’s consider reevaluating their menu or take a field trip to the kitchen of any number of small plate restaurants to see how it’s done.

    • There is a very, very, very, good reason why your husband commented that no one in the restaurant was eating. I could bet that you were there about 7:00, on a Friday or Saturday. And if I knew the date, I could confirm this, but my guess is also that everyone else came in about the same time. This is what happens in a small town (5,000 people) to a small, very popular restaurant. Recently, I visited a very large small-plates restaurant in New Orleans called Cochon. It was a Saturday night, and it was about 7:30, and in the first half hour, we received a small plate, and then one small plate about 15 minutes later, and our larger plates came at about 75 minutes in, and we were a two- top. I remember a wonderful month in Italy where dinner always took at least two hours, again, for two. I dined recently at Tasty and Sons in Portland, a brunch spot created by the owners of Toro Bravo, where the waitress told us, “we serve family style, whatever you order will come out as it is prepared, and not together.” Brunch took (for three) 1 hour 45 minutes. This is not only what I expect, this is what I WANT when I dine. I want the cooks to take as much time making my dish as delicious as it would be if I were the only person in the restaurant. I am sorry you were unhappy about it, but you were told that was how we cook and serve. AND the food was delicious, you say. Isn’t that why you came? That’s why I go out to eat: to enjoy good food, good company, good wine, and if it takes me two hours, I feel incredibly blessed that I got to have such a nice relaxing evening. I obviously can’t change your mind, and the only thing I could suggest is that you choose restaurants in the future by how fast they can deliver the food, not how good it tastes. Everyone has different values when they enter a restaurant, and sometimes we connect: our values match our guests’ values. Sometimes we don’t, as in your case. We do what we do, and we do it because that is how we want it done, not because we are slow-footed or inept. Come back again, if you like, when you don’t feel pressured to have your food come out all at once in 30 minutes. Because the food was “very good” and how often does that happen, especially in a small town?

Leave a Reply

